5 Minute Fiction

This time it wouldn’t be so easy to fool them. I was the original manipulator but everyone in the family has appeared to be seeing right through the fake smile I plaster on my long thin lips. Maybe my eyes are showing the truth after all these years. I’ve noticed the bright blue has dulled to an almost smoke gray. It’s what happens when you hide the pain long enough. My name is Anna and I’ve been hiding a secret from my family and friends for the last ten years. I never told anyone because I didn’t want them to feel sorry for me. I don’t like pity. I suspect that even after all this time they were bound to get suspicious and know something was wrong. They’ve never asked and I sat here thinking I was covering the truth pretty well. At least until this morning when I went down for breakfast and a strange woman was sitting at the table. Mom introduced her as Doctor Fitzwell. And from the way she looked at me up and down with her head leaning to the side and pity in her hazel eyes she wasn’t a regular doctor. Fitzwell appeared to me to be a Shrink. I did an about-face and headed back down the hall to my bedroom. I locked myself in and have been here since. Mom knocks on my door every few minutes and in that take charge voice of her says my name  and nothing else. She expects me to answer but I don’t. I know what they plan. Intervention. But they don’t understand. I don’t do drugs, I don’t drink, I don’t even take aspirin. I’m not self-harming, I’m not anorexic or bullemic. I’m just in physical pain all of the time and I can’t sleep. I’ve been to doctors and they can’t seem to figure it out. Mom thinks it’s all in my head. If she only knew.

 

 Original

Leave a Reply

