Music and Writing

I really tried to sit and write without music this morning. I realize now that writing of any kind whether it’s fiction, creative or blogging I really can’t seem to focus without my playlists. I literally sit here staring at the screen, fingers hovered over the keyboard then then a sound grabs my attention and I’m off to figure out what it was and then an hour later forget what I was originally doing.

So right now I’ve got my friends MP3 player going with a local radio station with alot of 80’s music. Yes I’m an 80’s girl I will admit it. And now the creativity flows! I also realize that depending on what music I listen to depends on what creativity flows. It’s a bit unsettling that I don’t have just one genre that I listen to for everything.

Coffee House = Journaling

80’s = Blogging

Industrial = Writing Thriller/Suspense/Paranormal/Mystery

70’s and 90’s Rock = Erotic/Romance

Indie = Social Media and everything else (letter writing included)

It never ceases to amaze me just  how music influences what I do. I also prefer music over the television but the television seems to be great for just background noise when I’m outlining, plotting and doing character creations. Writing my first draft of my current book for NaNoWriMo next month pretty much will consist of a shuffled playlist consisting of Apocalyptica, The Chainsmokers, HIM and a handful of random songs from Imagine Dragons, Carly Rae Jepsen, Katy Perry, Rhianna and Eminem, and last but not least Train and Shinedown. I’m excited and really looking forward to getting a start on it.

Right now I’ve got plot done, playlist done, and I’ve got character names. I’m in the process of getting the character outlines done the next few days and then I’ll be working on scene outlines/pots together before Novemember 1st.

Are you planning to do NaNoWriMo and if so how is your prep going?

 
Realize
 

2 thoughts on “Music and Writing

  1. I’ve thought about doing NaNoWriMo every year, and then never do. Maybe this year is the year, but knowing me, it won’t be; I have a hard time writing when any kind of restraints, time limits, etc. are in place.

    Like

    • I had the same problem two years ago and last year finally decided to start with a smaller goal of 10,000 words for 30 days, I found that once I got to that goal I raised it another 5,000 until I actually reached 50,000. I think sometimes when we give ourselves time limits with a huge goal to reach we get overwhelmed. You might even find if you do 5,000 for your first you might be ok. I try not to think of the big picture as much as possible and now break it down to a daily goal. I’m sure you’ll do great even if you don’t do a 50,000 goal in 30 days 🙂 If you try it this year for November I’d be more than happy to be a writing buddy if you think having someone to encourage you might help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

